The Five Reiki Principles

There are five ethical Reiki principles taught by Mr. Usui, the originator of Reiki, that he considered the "secret of inviting happiness." He believed the principles to be a medicine for all people and all diseases because they focus us on positive emotions and release the rest.

Each principle begins with "Just for today" to focus on what we are capable of changing (state of mind) and not the past or future which invites worry and anger. The principles bring our consciousness to the moment and project gratitude and compassion.

I have these principles hanging on my wall as a reminder. They are very simple and I feel a sense of peace to repeat them, especially on tough days. Usui encouraged the use of these principles in Reiki practice but also in everyday life to enhance wellness.

  1. Just for today, do not be angry.

  2. Just for today, do not worry.

  3. Just for today, be grateful.

  4. Just for today, work with diligence.

  5. Just for today, be kind to people.